Day 18: A Song That You Wish You Heard on the Radio (November 18, 2014)

Day 18: A Song That You Wish You Heard on the Radio

I love the radio, having to listen to the radio in my old car without any other options for 5 years I listened to a lot of radio stations. Having a newer car right now I have a window of music opportunities with the radio, my iPod, and cds. So honestly I was thinking a lot about if I still had only radio in my car and the song that I am really obsessing “Amnesia” originally by 5 Seconds of Summer, but the version that I wish was on the radio is a version by a artist named, Bryana Salaz. And honestly I would also have to go with “Lay Me Down” originally by Sam Smith, but the version I am currently obsessed with is by an artist named, Ricky Manning.

These two songs I have listened to the originally ones and I like them, but these two Ricky and Bryana just bring something new to them and just make them better (in my opinion).

“Amnesia” is a song that I think has such powerful lyrics and every time i listen to it I cry. I cannot help but not. Because I know how that feels in a sense when it comes to friends. I have never been in a relationship before and I am 21 years old, so yeah…. But, there is a lyric in the song that I just connect with and when I hear it, it just makes me think of a certain moment and I cry.

‘It hurts to know you’re happy, yeah, it hurts that you’ve moved on. It’s hard to hear your name when I haven’t seen you in so long. It’s like we never happened, was it just a lie? If what we had was real, how could you be fine? Cause I’m not fine at all.”

The way that Bryana delivers this song is just everything that this song needs. The emotion is just there and honestly between this song and the song I am about to talk about, have been on my iPod, on repeat for the past week. Either when I am walking, driving in my car, or just sitting and working. I cannot get enough for this song, I wish it was on the radio, but this version because it would be a chart topping hit.

“Lay Me Down” is a song that I don’t think is Sam Smith’s best work, but it is not terrible either. When I heard it I was like on edge because I just didn’t really get it. Then I listened to the version done by Ricky Manning and I just fell in love with it. I could understand everything that the song was about and I just felt more from his version compared to Sam Smith’s. I wish this was on the radio because it is powerful and so on point with how long distance relationships are difficult and how one just wants to be with the other. I cannot say I know how that feels because once again I am single, always have been and yeah…. But, if that ever happens this song is just perfect, sure it is hard, but there is a lyric that just makes me feel everything in the world when it comes to feelings.

 “No words can explain the way I’m missing you. Deny this emptiness, this hole that I’m inside. These tears, they tell their own story. You told me not to cry when you were gone. But the feeling’s overwhelming, it’s much too strong. I don’t want to be here if I can’t be with you.”

I honestly hope that these two artists can one day be on the radio and be successful artists because they need to have an opportunity to have EVERYONE listen to their music. Not only are their voices so recognizable, but they are powerful voices that have so much to say. People can relate and connect with them and we need more artists like that in the music industry. These two artists are clearly amazing and I hope that they get the recognition and respect that they deserve. So as their time is coming, people better watch out because they are going to take the music world by storm!

Leave a Reply

