Day 26: A Song That You Can Play on an Instrument (November 26, 2014)

Day 26: A Song That You Can Play on an Instrument

I have recently learned how to play the piano in the past year and it is just one heck of a learning experience that I know will help grow as a musician and also will help me learn how to write my own music. I just recently learned one of my favorite songs on the piano that I am so excited for because I hope to record my own rendition of “Stars” by Grace Potter and the Nocturnals. It is probably one of those songs that I wish I could have written because it has so much emotion in the lyrics and the song itself is powerful, especially in the chorus. I feel like the verses are powerful in the lyrics, it is a silent killer, then the chorus just comes in with the power and the “punch in the stomach” feeling because the song as a whole is just powerful. I take the song and the lyrics as, someone who meant a lot to you at some point and now they just are not around, either they just left or they passed on. So you remember all these good times you had together and one of those moments was looking up at the sky and just looking at the stars. But now it just hurts because they are not their and looking at the stars just brings back all the memories and the reassurance that they are no longer there. I love this song so much and I cannot wait to show my Youtube fans and everyone else my rendition of this song.

“All those times we looked up at the sky. Looking out so far, it felt like we could fly. And now I’m all alone in the dark of night. And the moon is shining, but I can’t see the light. And I can’t look at the stars, they make me wonder where you are. Stars, up on heaven’s boulevard. And if I know you at all, I know you’ve gone too far. So I, I can’t look at the stars.”

Leave a Reply

