The Voice Season 7, Fantasy League (Day 12): Semi-Finals Night, Definitely Worth Talking About!

So it has been a little while since I last posted a blog on The Voice, however I have been super busy with so much school work and whatnot. But tonight’s episode of The Voice is definitely worth taking time away from my studies and writing this blog to you, the people!

So tonight was the semi-finals and in my opinion out of the evening, three people gave stand out performances that were really semi-final worthy performances. To me personally, the coaches say the exact same thing every week and sure it can be true, but I think if I was a contestant I would want something constructive every once in a while, that could be beneficial to me as an artist.

As tonight’s episode unfolded itself to me I waited to write this so I could let everything sink in. The three people who I thought did amazing tonight was Chris Jamison (both performances), Craig Wayne Boyd (second performance), and Matt McAndrew (second performance). I thought Damien did alright, I just did not care for either performance, I thought they were missing something, he just does not excite me anymore when he sings because I’ve become use to everything he is going to do. I think he is great, but just boring in my opinion. As for Taylor John Williams, I have grown to like him as the competition has progressed, but tonight I was just lost for words. I thought his rendition of “Falling Slowly” was good and I love that song, it is one of my all time favorite songs from one of my all time favorite movies/musicals. But “Blank Space” just totally confused me and it was a mess in my opinion. I think he tried something different, but it just was not his best and I wish he would have picked something else, I mean it was contestant’s choice, so I am curious why he picked that song.

As for the other three, let me start off by talking about CHRIS JAMISON, to me he was the stand out of the evening because he had two solid performances and I was just blown away by the second one in particular, “When I Was Your Man” by Bruno Mars was the performance of the season in my opinion. Those notes were out of this world amazing and I think if he does not make it into the Finals, something is wrong because that was just perfection.

When it comes to Craig Wayne Boyd, I have come to like him the more the show has progressed, his voice is growing on me and his rendition of “The Old Rugged Cross” was beyond everything I could have asked for. It was beautiful and powerful and for someone to do a song like that on national television and just deliver it and take command of it like he did was just fantastic. I just am very thankful for that performance tonight because it was just beautiful.

Lastly, Matt McAndrew, he is someone who I have also come to like more and more as the competition has progressed and I think I became a fan when he did his rendition of “Fix You” by Coldplay, which I just found to be incredible. Tonight his rendition of “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” was just so good and I was like excited for it because he just delivers and I hope that he advances tomorrow night.

All I can say is tonight’s episode is what I have been waiting for. That is all and with the Wild Card show tonight happening, I have my favorite down, but I don’t know if they will advance. My hope is that Da’Nica Shirey advances, but I just do not know.

the voice 12-9

Leave a Reply

